Join British Cycling

Road: Cyclopark win For junior Wood

SERRL Cyclopark Evening Series Race 15
Location: Cyclopark, Gravesend, Kent
Event: 5 September 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

JUNIOR George Wood (Maldon & District CC) claimed his second closed circuit win of the season in round 15 of the SERRL Evening Series at Gravesend’s Cyclopark.

The Canvey Island 17-year-old got the better of elite rider Dean Shannon (, twice a winner on the circuit this summer, and Alex Minting (Neon-Velo) in the hour and a half-long feature race of the night.

The event for third and fourth categories came down to a bunch sprint after Lee Staples (GS Avanti) had been off the front for a long while, only to be brought back as the chasers mixed in with the lapping bunch from the main race.

Staples had to settle for third place as Thomas Bruno (Eagle RC) secured his third win of the year ahead of Jeremy Bishop (Bigfoot CC). Fourth in the two preceding rounds, 54-year-old veteran Linda Endicott (Kent Velo Girls) stepped up to lead in the women’s field.



1 George Wood (Maldon & District CC)

2 Dean Shannon (

3 Alex Minting (Neon-Velo)

4 Rhys Clegg (PMR@Toachim House)

5 Will Pratt (Aprire RT)

6 Owen Lake (

7 Josh Parkin (Aprire RT)

8 Richard Hepworth (Node4 Giordana Racing)

9 Robert Moiore (London Phoenix CC)

10 Luke Ryan (


1 Thomas Bruno (Eagle RC)

2 Jeremy Bishop (Bigfoot CC)

3 Lee Staples (GS Avanti)

4 Steve Tribe (Velosport)

5 Matt Kuwertz (Southborough & District Wheelers)

6 Oliver Jedrej (Dulwich Paragon CC)

7 Shaun Williams (SFA Racing)

8 Craig Barton (4t+ Velo)

9 Darren Squirrel (GS Avanti)

10 Stephen Cavey (Catford CC)


1 Linda Endicott (Kent Velo Girls)

2 Kary Greer (Kent Velo Girls)

3 Rachel Cottica (London Phoenix CC)

4 Rachael Yates (London Phoenix CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.